BRIGHTON and HOVE just clinch it by 3 points !!!

 Jon Dobbin, B&H skipper is presented with the
Bill Weekes Order of Merit Trophy for 2017
 by Society President Dennis Baker. 
Final scores were:-
B&H 60,  West Hove 57,  Dyke 48,  East Btn 14. 

Well done to competitors from all the 4 clubs during the year for continuing to make the BDGS such a great alliance of clubs...since 1926!!!


West Hove's team of Pete Rodger, Richard Daughtrey, Kevin Brown, Tim Ingram,
Gordon Eaton and Kevin Heanen scored a total of 168 points to push the host club, Dyke into second place by just 4 stableford points.
  Roy Bowerman of The Dyke won the Presidents' Salver with 27 pts.

Gary Salt of West Hove won the Secretaries Cup with 32 points, winning on back 9 count-back from Martin Yeates of The Dyke.
          Brad Harris of Dyke GC scored a steady 1 under 71 to win the Pro
Trophy and prize.  


B.D.G.S. Captains 2017

Captains of the 4 BDGS Clubs:- 
Left to right.Kevin Brown (West Hove),   Mike Dunkerton (East Brighton)
Mervin Allinson (Dyke GC),   Jon Dobbin (Brighton & Hove).


A fine sunny day at Dyke Golf Club greeted players at this year's event.

Morning results:- West Hove beat East Brighton 3-2,    Dyke beat Btn and Hove 4-1
Afternoon results:- For the Plate, Brighton and Hove led by playing club captain, John Dobbin defeated East Brighton 3-2.

The final was closely fought, however home advantage came to the fore with Dyke beating a strong West Hove team 3 matches to 2.

 Above..DGC Team, C Bladen, N Hudson, M Quick, D Fitzpatrick, A Vans Agnew, N Felix,
J Rogers, R Fuller, P Fitzpatrick, P Sayers and G Kane.

   Above (left) Nicky Felix presented with            John Dobbin (Btn and Hove)
   Trophy by BDGS President Dennis Baker                with 'The Plate'


2017 Scratch CHAMPIONSHIPS at Dyke G.C.

Our Secretary, Brian Drew had a busy day with 2 play-offs needed after 36 holes.

For the Ladies Championship, Lesley Talbot of East Brighton and Carol Duncumb (Dyke G.C.) were tied on 174. CAROL DUNCUMB won the first 'sudden death' play off with a par to Lesley's bogey on the 10th hole.
The men's event also went to a play-off with George Goddard (West Hove) and Neil Mason (Brighton & Hove) both scoring 5 over 149 for the day. Both played superb 2nd shots into first play-off hole with NEIL MASON holing his 12 foot putt for birdie and win.

WEST HOVE took the 4 man Team Trophy on 615 from runners up Dyke on 628.

RYAN MILLER of West Hove scored 75-80 (155) to take the Junior Championship Trophy.

Carol Duncumb with The Mary Turton Trophy

Neil Mason, Mens 2017 BDGS Champion

(Left) Ryan Miller, 
Junior Champion.

(Right) West Hove
Team Champions
Gary Salt, George Goddard,
Tony Humphrey & Sam Cains



Brighton and Hove G.C. hosted this event for the first time in recent history with 12 players from each of the 4 clubs competing. Extremely hot and humid conditions proved challenging, but everybody completed the course..well done! Home advantage proved significant again with the home club taking most of the prizes.

RESULTS:- Wentworth Smith Handicap... David Pitts (B&H) 37, D Raikes (B&H) 37, C Tolman (B&H) 36.
SCRATCH CUP:- George Goddard (West Hove) 69, D Raikes (B&H) 72, N Mason (B&H) 74
TEAM SHIELD;- B&H 179, Dyke 165, West Hove 162, East Brighton 147. Winning team best 5 were D Raikes, C Tolman, D Pitts, N Mason and G Carter.

David Pitts, Winner of Handicap trophy
 George Goddard, Scratch Trophy winner (and he won a bottle of Scotch in the Raffle!)
John Dobbin (Brighton & Hove Captain) recieves Team Shield from BDGS President Dennis Baker




For players of 14 handicap and above, this took place at Brighton & Hove G.C. on May 28th. Before lunch, East Brighton beat Dyke G.C. and the home club defeated West Hove 4-1.
In the Plate final after lunch Dyke G.C. under skipper Tony Case beat West Hove 4-1 and the final between the home club and East Brighton saw East Brighton win the first 3 matches 'straight off the bat' to win the trophy...B&H did get the consolation of winning last 2 matches.
This win gives East Brighton their first Order of Merit points for 2017.

 East Brighton's team:-I Richmond, J Ruskin, P Harris, M Lovell, M Lewis, R Godelman,
 W Ward, R Jackson, D Phillips, J Jackson.

 Dyke G.C. team with 'The Plate' together with
Club Captain Mervin Allinson.